- What "Passing" Means for the NAPNES IV Therapy Exam
- The 80% Criterion and What It Does Not Tell You
- Exam Format: What Is Published and What Is Not
- Course Grades Are Not Exam Scoring
- Where Points Come From: The Eight Preparation Domains
- Why Dosage Calculation Deserves Extra Weight in Your Plan
- After the Score: Authorization, Affidavit, and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the 80% Line
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The NAPNES IV Therapy exam uses an 80% passing criterion, according to the issuer's currently accessible FAQ.
- The issuer states 125-160 multiple-choice questions, delivered online and timed; no exact count or timer is published.
- The course's 40/30/30 grading split is course grading, not certification exam weighting.
- No public NAPNES IVT pass-rate dataset exists; a provider's "guarantee" is marketing, not a cohort statistic.
What "Passing" Means for the NAPNES IV Therapy Exam
When practical and vocational nurses search for the IVT passing score, they usually want one clean number. For this credential, there is one, but it comes with caveats worth understanding before you build a study plan around it. This article covers the Intravenous Therapy Certification issued by the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service (NAPNES) for LPNs and LVNs. It does not cover CRNI, a generic IV technician exam, a state-specific IV course, or any other credential that happens to share the acronym.
The headline figure from NAPNES's currently accessible IV Therapy FAQ is an 80% passing criterion. That is the number you can plan around. Everything else about scoring mechanics, such as how many questions are scored versus unscored, whether items are weighted, or whether the test adapts, is not specified in the public material. Part of being well prepared is knowing which details are confirmed and which are not.
The 80% Criterion and What It Does Not Tell You
An 80% threshold sounds simple, but it leaves several practical questions open. The public sources do not say whether the percentage applies to every question presented or only to scored items. They also do not say whether certain content areas must be passed individually. Because the issuer publishes no exam blueprint with percentage weights, you cannot calculate how many misses a single weak domain can absorb.
The practical consequence is straightforward: you cannot afford to write off any domain. With no published weights, a strategy of mastering a few favorite areas and hoping the rest balances out is risky. The safer approach is to treat all eight preparation areas as fair game and aim for consistent accuracy across them. For a deeper look at the content areas themselves, see our complete guide to all 8 IVT content areas.
Passing score versus pass rate
These are different things, and mixing them up is common. The passing score is the threshold you must reach, which is 80%. The pass rate is the share of candidates who reach it. NAPNES has not published a current IVT pass-rate dataset in the sources reviewed. The course provider's "100% pass rate guarantee" language is a marketing promise tied to its own program terms, not an independently reported cohort statistic. If you see a pass rate quoted anywhere, ask where the data came from. Our IVT pass rate article covers what can and cannot be said responsibly.
Exam Format: What Is Published and What Is Not
| Exam Detail | Status in Public Sources |
|---|---|
| Passing criterion | 80% (issuer FAQ) |
| Question count | Range of 125-160 multiple-choice questions; no exact count specified |
| Delivery | Timed, online, from an internet-connected computer |
| Exact timer | Not specified |
| Scored versus unscored items | Not specified |
| Adaptive testing | Not specified |
| Calculator policy | Not specified |
| Open- or closed-book | Not specified |
| Published domain weights | None verified |
Some third-party guides cite precise figures such as 150 questions in 150 minutes. Those claims come from secondary sources and do not match the issuer's published range, so treat them with skepticism. The rule for this exam: trust the issuer's range, and get the specifics in writing when you are authorized to test.
Because the calculator rule is unspecified, prepare for both possibilities. Practice dosage problems by hand until the arithmetic is automatic, and also practice with a basic calculator so a permitted-tool scenario does not change your pacing. The exam is multiple choice, so practice eliminating wrong options while still working the math rather than guessing from answer patterns.
Course Grades Are Not Exam Scoring
A frequent point of confusion comes from the preparation course. The issuer-linked NAPNES IV Therapy Certification Course syllabus describes a grading split of 40% quizzes, 30% quarter examinations, and 30% final examination. That is how the course grades its students. It is not how the certification exam is scored or weighted.
If you are using the course as your preparation vehicle, the useful takeaway is that its quizzes and final exam are rehearsal for the real test. Aim to score comfortably above 80% on practice material before you apply, so a normal test-day dip does not drop you under the line. For a full preparation framework, see our IVT study guide.
Where Points Come From: The Eight Preparation Domains
The eight areas below reproduce the numbered instructional module titles from the issuer-linked IV Therapy course curriculum. They are unweighted preparation headings. They do not establish an official eight-domain exam blueprint, and administrative or study-skills sections of the course are not additional exam domains. Use them as a coverage checklist, not a point calculator.
Domain 1: Introduction
Sets the frame for the rest of the curriculum, including the role of the practical or vocational nurse in IV therapy.
- Patient care and communication fundamentals
- Understanding that certification and scope of practice are separate matters
Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology
The curriculum emphasizes upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, the structures that matter most for peripheral access.
- Vein selection logic and the vascular structures of the arm and hand
- Nerve proximity and why it matters for site safety
Domain 3: Asepsis
Infection control is a standing theme in IV therapy and a natural source of scenario questions.
- Aseptic technique and infection prevention
- Regulatory precautions that apply to IV practice
Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies
Know what the tools are for and how to match them to the situation.
- Infusion devices and related equipment
- Supplies used in initiating and maintaining therapy
Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations
Metric measurement and dosage calculation form a quantitative core. This is the domain where careful practice most directly protects your score.
- Metric measurement and conversions
- Dosage and flow-related calculation
Domain 6: Foundations
Underlying principles that support safe IV practice across the other modules.
- Core concepts you will apply in complication recognition and care decisions
Domain 7: Pharmacology
Medication safety is a stated preparation objective, so expect questions that test safe handling and administration judgment.
- Medication safety principles
- Understanding what you are infusing and why it matters
Domain 8: IV Infusion
The applied, hands-on-in-concept domain where earlier knowledge converges.
- Initiating and managing infusions
- Complication recognition and response
The unweighted nature of these domains is exactly why a balanced approach matters. Our IVT difficulty guide discusses which areas tend to feel hardest and why.
Why Dosage Calculation Deserves Extra Weight in Your Plan
I cannot tell you that dosage calculation is the heaviest-weighted domain, because no official weights are published. What I can say is that it is the one domain where the answer is objectively right or wrong, which makes it the most controllable source of points. Anatomy and infection-control questions often involve judgment between plausible options. A dosage problem either lands on the correct number or it does not.
That makes calculation fluency a high-leverage investment when you are trying to clear an 80% bar. Work through problems that cover metric conversions, ordered-dose-to-available-dose reasoning, and infusion-rate arithmetic until you can complete them without hesitation. Check each answer for plausibility: if the result implies an unreasonable volume or rate, recheck your setup before moving on.
Key Takeaway
Treat dosage calculation as your insurance domain. Because the exam has no published blueprint, converting every calculation question into a reliable point gives you margin to absorb misses in judgment-heavy areas.
After the Score: Authorization, Affidavit, and Renewal
Reaching the passing score is a major milestone, but the certification process has additional steps. Understanding them now prevents surprises later.
Before you test
Per NAPNES's Online Application page, you need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of your license, and issuer authorization to test. The authorization carries a 60-day window, so schedule your preparation to peak inside it. The linked NAPNES application specifies $100 per application, covering both initial IVT certification and IVT recertification by examination. The live signup form also lists a separate $50 option for active-duty military and VA employees. Older issuer copy names Castle Worldwide as a testing vendor and quotes legacy testing fees, but that wording should not be treated as freshly confirmed 2026 vendor pricing. Our IVT certification cost breakdown separates these items from preparation-course tuition, and our IVT requirements guide covers eligibility in more detail.
After you pass
The NAPNES application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit, returned to NAPNES within 60 days after receipt, before the certification process is complete. A passing score alone does not finish the process. Build the notary visit and mailing into your timeline.
Validity and renewal
The credential is valid for three years, as supported by the issuer page and the linked application. Recertification by examination is explicitly offered. A current IVT-specific continuing-education renewal route, CE-hour requirement, and renewal fee were not verified in the public material, so confirm current renewal procedures with NAPNES rather than relying on older notices.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the 80% Line
This is the one planning section in the article, and it is tied directly to the eight domains. The logic is to front-load quantitative skill-building, which needs repetition, and save integrative review for later.
Foundation and anatomy
- Cover Introduction and Review of Anatomy and Physiology
- Focus on upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy
- Begin daily metric conversion drills so math fluency compounds early
Safety and tools
- Study Asepsis and Equipment and Supplies
- Continue dosage drills, adding ordered-versus-available dose problems
Applied content
- Work through Foundations, Pharmacology, and IV Infusion
- Practice recognizing complications from scenario descriptions
Timed practice and gap repair
- Take full-length timed practice sets and track results by domain
- Return to any area scoring near or below 80%
- Time your test before your 60-day authorization window closes
You can compress or stretch this schedule to fit your life; the provider's own recommended pace for its course is 16 weeks or less. The point is the ordering, not the exact calendar. Use our one-page IVT cheat sheet for last-week review, and check testing windows and scheduling for planning.
To measure readiness honestly, use the IVT Exam Prep practice tests and aim to land consistently above the 80% line before you request authorization. A single lucky score is not readiness; steady results across multiple sessions are. Review each missed question by domain so you can see whether errors cluster in calculation, infection control, or medication safety.
Frequently Asked Questions
The issuer's currently accessible FAQ gives an 80% passing criterion. The public sources do not specify how scored and unscored items are handled, so confirm any scoring details with NAPNES when you receive your authorization to test.
The issuer states a range of 125-160 multiple-choice questions, delivered online and timed. An exact question count and exact time limit are not published, and secondary sources citing a fixed 150-question, 150-minute format do not match the issuer's range.
No current public NAPNES IVT pass-rate dataset was verified. A course provider's pass-rate guarantee is marketing language tied to its own terms, not a cohort statistic. See our IVT pass rate article for how to interpret claims.
No. The 40% quizzes, 30% quarter examinations, and 30% final examination split is how the preparation course grades students. It does not describe how the certification exam is scored or weighted, and the exam has no published domain weights.
You must complete a notarized post-exam affidavit and return it to NAPNES within 60 days after receipt before the certification process is complete. The credential is valid for three years, and recertification by examination is offered. Scope of practice remains governed by your state license and employer.
Ready to pass your IVT exam?
Put this into practice with free IVT questions across every exam domain.