- What This Credential Actually Is
- What the Exam Looks Like (and What Isn't Published)
- Eligibility, Fees, and Paperwork
- The Eight-Module Study Map
- Dosage Calculation: The Skill to Drill Daily
- Sequencing the Modules Across Your Prep Window
- National Certification vs. State Practice Authority
- IVT vs. CRNI: Different Nurses, Different Credentials
- Frequently Asked Questions
- IVT here means NAPNES IV Therapy Certification for LPNs/LVNs, not CRNI or any other credential sharing the acronym.
- NAPNES's issuer FAQ describes 125-160 multiple-choice questions, timed online delivery, and an 80% passing criterion.
- No official domain weights are published, so study all eight preparation modules rather than betting on a "heavy" one.
- You need an active LPN/LVN license, a completed application, and issuer authorization to test; the authorization window is 60 days.
What This Credential Actually Is
Several credentials share the letters "IVT," so start by pinning down which one you are preparing for. This guide covers the NAPNES IV Therapy Certification, a post-licensure credential from the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service for practical and vocational nurses. NAPNES lists the designations "LPN, IVT" and "LVN, IVT" on its certifications page. If you want the plain-language definition first, our explainer on what IVT certification is covers it in more detail.
This guide does not cover CRNI (which is for RNs), a generic IV-technician exam, a state-specific IV course, or NAPNES's separate Pharmacology and Long-Term Care certifications. Mixing those up is the most common way candidates waste study time, so keep the boundary clear. If you are comparing paths, see how IVT certification fits into a practical nurse's credential stack.
What the Exam Looks Like (and What Isn't Published)
Here is what the issuer's currently accessible FAQ supports, and no more:
| Exam Feature | What the Issuer Source Says |
|---|---|
| Question format | Multiple choice |
| Question count | A range of 125-160 questions; no exact count published |
| Delivery | Timed, online, from an internet-connected computer |
| Passing criterion | 80% |
| Exact timer | Not specified in the sources reviewed |
| Calculator, open-book, or adaptive rules | Not specified |
| Domain percentage weights | Not published in verified sources |
Some secondary guides state a flat "150 questions in 150 minutes." That claim traces to a 2019 third-party page, not to the issuer, and the issuer's own range is wider. Plan for the range, and confirm the exact timer and calculator policy in your authorization materials rather than assuming. The 80% threshold is covered in depth in our IVT passing score breakdown.
Why the Pass Rate Is a Blank
No current public NAPNES dataset gives an IVT cohort pass rate. A course provider's "pass guarantee" is a marketing promise, not a statistic. Our IVT pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said, and how hard the IVT exam is addresses difficulty in qualitative terms. The practical takeaway: an 80% bar on a multiple-choice exam rewards broad, accurate recall and clean math, not cramming one favorite topic.
Eligibility, Fees, and Paperwork
Who Can Apply
Per NAPNES's online application page, candidates need:
- An LPN or LVN license in good standing
- A completed application
- A copy of the license
- Issuer authorization to test, which carries a 60-day window
The public application does not establish an IVT-specific employment-hour requirement or a separate practical-skills assessment, and you should not assume one exists. See IVT requirements for the full eligibility picture, and IVT exam dates for scheduling logistics.
The Post-Exam Affidavit
Passing the exam is not the last step. NAPNES's linked application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit, returned within 60 days of receipt, before the certification process is complete. Calendar this the day you pass. Candidates who treat a passing score as the finish line risk leaving the process unfinished.
What the Fee Pages Say, and How Old They Are
| Item | Figure | Caveat |
|---|---|---|
| NAPNES application/registration (initial or recertification by exam) | $100 per application | Shown on the linked application form |
| Active-duty military/VA employee option | $50 registration | An eligibility discount, not a member/nonmember split |
| Testing vendor fee (legacy FAQ wording) | $60 first attempt, $50 additional | Legacy copy; not confirmed as current 2026 pricing |
| NAPNES-linked prep course tuition | $395 one-time, or $100/month for five months | Course price, not a testing charge |
Whether the prep course tuition bundles the national application or testing charges is not verified, so do not assume it does. If you are weighing the spend against the payoff, is the IVT certification worth it walks through the reasoning without promising a raise.
The Eight-Module Study Map
NAPNES does not publish an exam blueprint with percentage weights. The best publicly retrievable map is the eight numbered instructional modules in the issuer-linked IV Therapy Certification Course, whose syllabus lists objectives covering patient care and communication, upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, asepsis, regulatory precautions, equipment and infusion devices, metric measurement, dosage calculation, complication recognition, and medication safety.
Be precise about what this map is: eight unweighted preparation headings, not proof of an official eight-domain exam. Administrative and course-assessment sections of the syllabus are not exam content. Even so, it is the most defensible scaffold available. For a deeper walk-through, see our guide to the IVT exam domains.
Domain 1: Introduction
The orientation layer: the purpose of IV therapy certification, the nurse's role, and the framing for everything after.
- Understand what the credential does and does not authorize
- Note that scope of practice is a separate licensing matter set by your state
Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology
Upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy is the named focus in the syllabus objectives.
- Know the veins used for peripheral access and why site selection matters
- Know which nearby nerves and structures make a site risky
- Connect anatomy to complication recognition (infiltration, phlebitis, nerve injury)
Domain 3: Asepsis
Infection control is a core safety thread across the whole credential.
- Hand hygiene, skin preparation, and maintaining a sterile field
- Recognizing signs of local and systemic infection
- Regulatory precautions that apply to handling needles and bodily fluids
Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies
Know the hardware as well as the physiology.
- Catheters, administration sets, and infusion devices
- Choosing appropriate equipment and recognizing equipment-related problems
- Safe handling and disposal
Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations
Metric measurement and dosage calculation are explicit syllabus objectives. This is the module where preventable point losses happen, so it gets its own section below.
Domain 6: Foundations
Patient care and communication fundamentals that underpin safe IV practice.
- Patient assessment, education, and documentation
- Communicating changes in patient condition
Domain 7: Pharmacology
Medication safety is a stated objective: the drugs and fluids given intravenously, and the safeguards around them.
- Intravenous fluids and medications and their safe administration
- Recognizing adverse reactions and knowing when to stop and escalate
Domain 8: IV Infusion
The applied module where earlier material converges: delivering therapy and monitoring the patient through it.
- Flow-rate management and monitoring during infusion
- Complication recognition and response
Dosage Calculation: The Skill to Drill Daily
With an 80% passing criterion and no published weights, you cannot afford a shaky quantitative module. Dosage and calculation questions have one defining feature: the answer is right or wrong, with no partial credit for sound reasoning. That makes them the most trainable part of the exam.
Build fluency in these areas:
- Metric conversions between units, done without hesitation
- Dose-from-concentration problems (ordered dose versus available strength)
- Infusion-rate problems (volume over time, and what that implies for the pump or drip rate)
- Unit and decimal checks, so a misplaced decimal does not slip through
Key Takeaway
Do a small set of calculation problems every study day, and always finish by asking whether the answer is clinically reasonable. A result that would mean giving ten times a normal dose is a signal to recheck your setup, not to trust your arithmetic.
Generic question banks do not guarantee accuracy or alignment with this exam, so verify any worked solutions you rely on, and cross-check formulas against your course text. Our IVT cheat sheet is a handy place to keep the must-know conversions in one view.
Sequencing the Modules Across Your Prep Window
The syllabus recommends a self-paced completion period of 16 weeks or less and specifies 45+ course hours; the storefront lists 26 weeks of access. Those are course measures, not exam requirements, but they make a reasonable planning frame. Here is one way to order the material, with the reasoning built in:
Introduction, Anatomy and Physiology, Foundations
- Anatomy first, because complication recognition later depends on it
- Start a daily five-minute metric-conversion warm-up now, so it is automatic by Domain 5
Asepsis and Equipment and Supplies
- Pair infection control with the devices that create infection risk
- Build a one-page glossary of equipment names
Dosages and Calculations
- Give this the longest block; it is the most error-sensitive module
- Move from conversions to concentrations to infusion rates
Pharmacology and IV Infusion
- Tie medication safety back to your calculation skills
- Work scenario questions on complications and responses
Mixed review under timed conditions
- Take full-length mixed practice sets using the IVT practice test
- Revisit any module where you score below 80%
The one generic principle worth keeping: space your review. Return to anatomy and asepsis in the final weeks even though you "finished" them early, because those facts anchor the complication and infusion questions that come last.
National Certification vs. State Practice Authority
A NAPNES credential is a national certification. Whether you may start IVs, and under what supervision, is decided by your state board and your employer's policies. NAPNES's materials do not imply that certification alone authorizes unsupervised practice.
California illustrates the distinction well. The California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians publishes its own IV therapy, blood-withdrawal, and combined certification processes for vocational nurses. That is a state-specific pathway, not a nationwide rule, and it does not automatically convert into or from a NAPNES credential. Before you pay for anything, ask your state board and your employer which certification they recognize. For the practical side of finding work, see IVT jobs and IVT training.
IVT vs. CRNI: Different Nurses, Different Credentials
| Factor | NAPNES IVT | CRNI |
|---|---|---|
| Intended nurse | LPN/LVN | RN |
| License requirement | LPN/LVN in good standing | Active, unrestricted RN license |
| Experience requirement | No IVT-specific hour requirement established in public application | 1,600 infusion hours within two years |
| Certifying body | NAPNES | Infusion Nurses Society's credentialing arm |
These are different credentials for different licensure levels, and CRNI specifications do not apply to IVT. If you are an LPN/LVN, the CRNI is not your route, and if you later become an RN the comparison changes. For terminology questions, see what IVT stands for.
Renewal in Brief
Certification is valid for three years, and the shared NAPNES application explicitly offers recertification by examination. A current IVT-specific continuing-education-only renewal route and its CE-hour requirement were not verified in the public materials, and an older general NAPNES rule notice mentioning 24 contact hours predates IVT's launch, so do not assume it applies. Confirm the current renewal path with NAPNES well before your three years end.
Frequently Asked Questions
The issuer's currently accessible FAQ gives an 80% passing criterion. It describes a multiple-choice exam of 125-160 questions delivered online and timed, but does not specify the exact question count or timer.
The public application lists an LPN/LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a license copy, and issuer authorization to test. No mandatory course-hour requirement was established, though the issuer-linked course exists as a preparation option. Confirm current requirements with NAPNES.
The linked NAPNES application lists $100 per application, with a $50 option for active-duty military/VA employees. Legacy FAQ wording also cites testing-vendor fees, but those may be outdated. The issuer-linked prep course is a separate cost.
No. NAPNES's application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit returned within 60 days of receipt before the certification process is complete.
Not automatically. Scope of practice is a separate licensing matter governed by your state board and employer policy. Check with both before assuming a national certification changes what you may do.
Whatever plan you choose, treat the eight modules as equal until proof says otherwise, protect your calculation skills with daily practice, and verify every logistical detail with NAPNES directly. For a consolidated version of this plan, revisit the IVT study guide hub, or start testing yourself right away on the main practice test site.