IVT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IVT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No current public NAPNES IVT pass-rate dataset was verified, so any specific percentage you see online should be treated skeptically.
  • The verified benchmark is the 80% passing criterion in the NAPNES IVT FAQ, which is a cut score, not a pass rate.
  • The issuer FAQ describes 125-160 multiple-choice questions, delivered timed and online from an internet-connected computer.
  • Provider "pass rate guarantees" are marketing language, not cohort statistics from NAPNES.

The Pass-Rate Reality for NAPNES IVT

Candidates searching for the IVT pass rate usually want one number: the percentage of test-takers who succeed on the first attempt. That number would be useful, and it is exactly the number that cannot be responsibly reported for the NAPNES Intravenous Therapy Certification. In the public sources reviewed for this article, NAPNES does not publish a cohort pass-rate dataset for IVT. There is no annual summary, no first-attempt versus retake breakdown, and no volume figure that would let anyone calculate one.

That absence matters because this page is titled "What the Data Shows," and honesty requires saying where the data stops. What the data does show is the structure surrounding the exam: an 80% passing criterion, a question range of 125-160, a defined application process, and a three-year certification validity period. Those facts shape your odds far more than any unsourced percentage would.

Why no number appears here: A pass rate quoted without a named issuer, a date, and a candidate population is not data. Several websites repeat round-number success claims for IV therapy certification, but none of them trace back to a published NAPNES dataset. If you cannot click through to the issuer's own statistic, treat the figure as decoration.

If you are still deciding whether the credential is a good fit before worrying about pass odds, start with our overview of what IVT certification is and our breakdown of IVT requirements and eligibility.

Pass Rate vs. Passing Score: Two Different Numbers

The most common confusion in this topic is treating the passing score and the pass rate as the same thing. They answer different questions.

MeasureWhat It Tells YouStatus for NAPNES IVT
Passing score (cut score)The performance level you must reach to pass80% criterion stated in the issuer FAQ
Pass rateThe share of candidates who actually passNo public dataset verified
Course grading splitHow a preparation course weights its own assessments40% quizzes, 30% quarter examinations, 30% final examination (course only, not the certification exam)
Provider guaranteeA marketing promise from a course vendorNot a cohort statistic

Notice the third row. The course syllabus carries a 40/30/30 grading split, and it is easy to mistake that for exam weighting. It is not. It describes how the preparation course grades its own learners, and it says nothing about how the certification exam distributes its questions. For a deeper look at what 80% means in practice, see IVT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Reading "Pass Rate Guarantee" Marketing Correctly

The preparation provider linked from NAPNES publishes a guarantee page. A guarantee is a commercial commitment, typically about refunds or additional access under defined conditions. It is not a published cohort pass rate, and it does not tell you what fraction of all IVT candidates succeed. The same is true of any "100% pass rate" banner on a third-party site.

When you evaluate any claim about success rates, ask four questions:

  1. Who measured it: NAPNES, the course provider, or an anonymous site?
  2. What population does it cover: all test-takers, or only the provider's own students who finished the course?
  3. What date does it describe?
  4. Is the denominator disclosed?

A provider statistic limited to its own completers can look impressive while saying nothing about the broader candidate pool, because people who drop out of a course never enter the numerator or the denominator.

What the Exam Looks Like

According to the currently accessible NAPNES IVT FAQ, the examination consists of 125-160 multiple-choice questions, delivered online under timed conditions from an internet-connected computer, with an 80% passing criterion. That is the verified extent of the format information.

Several details that candidates often want are not specified in the retrieved material: the exact question count for a given sitting, how many items are scored versus unscored, the precise time limit, whether testing is adaptive, whether a calculator is permitted, and whether the exam is open- or closed-book. Some third-party guides assert a flat 150 questions and 150 minutes. Those claims come from secondary sources and do not match the issuer's stated range, so this article does not repeat them.

Practical consequence: Because the calculator policy is unspecified, prepare to do dosage and flow-rate math by hand. If a calculator turns out to be allowed, you lose nothing. If it is not, you will not be caught unprepared on the one domain where arithmetic errors are most costly.

For a candid look at how demanding this format feels, read How Hard Is the IVT Exam? and then check your readiness against realistic questions on the main practice test site.

The Eight Preparation Areas That Drive Your Result

No official exam blueprint with percentage weights was verified for IVT. The eight areas below mirror the eight instructional module titles of the issuer-linked NAPNES IV Therapy Certification Course. They are unweighted preparation headings. They do not establish an official eight-domain examination, and the administrative, study-skills, and course-assessment sections of the course are not additional exam domains. For a fuller walkthrough, see IVT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Introduction

Sets the frame for the credential and the role of the practical or vocational nurse in IV therapy.

  • Understand the purpose and boundaries of the credential
  • Recognize that national certification is separate from state scope of practice

Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology

The syllabus objectives emphasize upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy.

  • Identify veins of the upper extremity and their suitability for access
  • Know where nerves and arteries sit relative to common sites
  • Connect anatomy to complication risk

Domain 3: Asepsis

Asepsis and infection control are named directly in the preparation objectives.

  • Hand hygiene and aseptic technique during access and line care
  • Recognizing breaks in sterile technique
  • Infection-control precautions tied to regulatory expectations

Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies

Equipment and infusion devices are an explicit objective.

  • Catheter and access-device selection
  • Tubing, administration sets, and infusion devices
  • Matching supplies to the therapy being delivered

Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations

Metric measurement and dosage calculation are named objectives, and this is the module where an 80% criterion is most unforgiving.

  • Metric conversions without hesitation
  • Flow-rate and drip-rate calculations
  • Dose-per-weight and concentration problems

Domain 6: Foundations

Covers the patient-care and communication foundations that frame safe practice.

  • Patient assessment and communication
  • Documentation and professional responsibility
  • Regulatory precautions that shape daily practice

Domain 7: Pharmacology

Medication safety is a stated objective.

  • Common IV fluids and medication categories
  • Compatibility, incompatibility, and administration safety
  • Recognizing adverse reactions

Domain 8: IV Infusion

Ties the earlier material together in the actual conduct of therapy, including complication recognition.

  • Initiating, monitoring, and discontinuing infusions
  • Recognizing infiltration, phlebitis, and other complications
  • Responding appropriately when something goes wrong

Eligibility and Process: Where Candidates Actually Stall

For many candidates, the real attrition happens before the exam screen ever loads. Per NAPNES's Online Application page, you need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of your license, and issuer authorization to test. That authorization carries a 60-day window, so scheduling delays can cost you time and force a restart of the process.

Not every candidate who starts the process sits the exam, which is one more reason a raw pass rate would be hard to interpret even if one were published: it would depend on whether it counted people who applied, people authorized, or people who actually tested.

Public NAPNES information does not establish an IVT-specific employment-hour requirement, a reference-count requirement, a mandatory course-hour minimum, or a separate practical-skills assessment. Do not infer a skills check from the clinical nature of the course topics. Details on every prerequisite are collected in IVT Requirements 2026, and the scheduling side is covered in IVT Exam Dates 2026.

Why the Public Information Is Hard to Trust

One reason pass-rate and logistics content online is unreliable is that the issuer's own public pages show their age. The IVT FAQ still names Castle Worldwide as a testing vendor and quotes legacy figures of $60 for a first attempt and $50 for an additional attempt, alongside a $100 NAPNES registration. The same FAQ describes IVT as not yet three years old, which tells you the copy predates the credential's maturity. A general rule-change notice linked from NAPNES is dated November 12, 2006 and effective January 1, 2007, which is older than the IVT program itself.

The Online Application page also references Castle Worldwide but uses the word "Scranton" in its retest instructions, and a current IVT-specific vendor contract or portal was not verified. Proctoring arrangements are likewise unconfirmed.

FactWhere It AppearsHow to Treat It
80% passing criterionIssuer IVT FAQVerified issuer statement
125-160 multiple-choice questionsIssuer IVT FAQVerified issuer range
$100 per application, including IVT recertification by examNAPNES Certification ApplicationPublished on the linked application
$60 / $50 attempt fees via Castle WorldwideIssuer IVT FAQLegacy wording; not freshly confirmed 2026 pricing
150 questions / 150 minutesThird-party guidesDoes not match the issuer range; not used here

For the money side of the process, including how course tuition differs from testing charges, see IVT Certification Cost 2026.

A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan

Since the exam has no published weights, a reasonable plan front-loads the areas that gate everything else and protects extra time for calculation fluency. The issuer-linked course suggests self-paced completion in 16 weeks or less, with 45+ course hours. Those are course measures, not the exam timer or a universal eligibility requirement, but they are a useful pacing reference. A deeper plan lives in the IVT Study Guide.

Weeks 1-2

Introduction and Foundations

  • Establish scope boundaries and patient-communication basics
  • Do these first because the later modules assume this vocabulary
Weeks 3-4

Anatomy and Asepsis

  • Upper-extremity veins and nerves
  • Infection-control principles that underpin every later procedure
Weeks 5-7

Dosages and Calculations

  • Start early and repeat weekly, because math fades without practice
  • Work problems by hand until conversions are automatic
Weeks 8-10

Equipment, Pharmacology, and IV Infusion

  • Link devices to therapies and therapies to complications
  • Rehearse complication recognition as scenario recall
Final weeks

Mixed Review

  • Timed mixed sets across all eight areas
  • Revisit calculation errors first

Key Takeaway

An 80% criterion gives you room to miss roughly one question in five, but it does not give you room to be weak in an entire domain. Since no weights are published, assume any area can supply a meaningful share of questions and avoid skipping the ones you find tedious.

To pressure-test your readiness with exam-style items rather than rereading notes, work through questions on the IVT practice test, and keep the IVT cheat sheet handy for last-week review.

After the Exam: Affidavit, Validity, and Renewal

Passing the exam is not quite the end of the process. The linked NAPNES application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit, which must be returned to NAPNES within 60 days after receipt before the certification process is complete. Skipping or delaying that step is an avoidable way to lose a result you earned.

Certification is valid for three years, supported by both the issuer page and the linked application. The shared application also offers recertification by examination. A current IVT-specific CE-only renewal route, its required hours, and its member or nonmember fees were not verified in the public material, so confirm those details directly with NAPNES before you plan around them. The older general rule-change notice mentions 24 contact hours for all certifications, but it predates IVT and does not establish a verified current IVT renewal rule. Renewal specifics are summarized in our IVT certification overview.

Finally, remember that national certification is not the same as state practice authority. California's BVNPT, for example, publishes its own IV, blood-withdrawal, and combined certification processes, and that is a California-specific matter, not a nationwide rule. Whether your employer or state board recognizes the NAPNES credential is a separate question, and the value case is explored in Is the IVT Certification Worth It? and the IVT salary guide. For context, BLS reports a May 2025 median wage of $64,400 for LPNs and LVNs as a whole, an occupation-wide figure that does not establish an IVT-specific pay premium.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the NAPNES IVT pass rate?

No current public NAPNES pass-rate dataset for IVT was verified, so no honest percentage can be given. Be cautious about any site quoting an exact figure without naming NAPNES as the source and giving a date.

What score do I need to pass the IVT exam?

The accessible NAPNES IVT FAQ states an 80% passing criterion. That is a cut score for an individual candidate, not a measure of how many candidates pass overall.

How many questions are on the exam?

The issuer FAQ describes 125-160 multiple-choice questions, delivered timed and online. An exact count, scored versus unscored split, and precise time limit are not specified in the retrieved material.

Does a "pass rate guarantee" from a course mean most people pass?

No. A guarantee is a commercial promise, typically about refunds or extra access under stated conditions. It is not a cohort pass rate and does not describe how all IVT candidates perform.

Who can apply for IVT certification?

Per NAPNES's Online Application page, you need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of your license, and issuer authorization to test, which carries a 60-day window.

Ready to pass your IVT exam?

Put this into practice with free IVT questions across every exam domain.