- What the IVT Certification Actually Is
- Who Can Pursue It: LPNs and LVNs Only
- The Eight Preparation Modules, Explained
- What the Issuer Says About the Exam Format
- Fees and Logistics: Separating Legacy Figures From Verified Ones
- From Application to Certified: The Process
- National Credential vs. State Scope of Practice
- IVT vs. CRNI: Different Credentials, Different Nurses
- Career Value Without the Hype
- Validity and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Modules
- Frequently Asked Questions
- IVT here means NAPNES's post-licensure IV Therapy certification for LPNs and LVNs, not CRNI or a generic IV technician exam.
- NAPNES's FAQ cites 125-160 multiple-choice questions, timed online delivery, and an 80% passing criterion.
- Eligibility requires an LPN or LVN license in good standing; the testing authorization window is 60 days.
- The certification lasts three years, and the application also covers recertification by examination.
What the IVT Certification Actually Is
The acronym "IVT" gets used loosely online, and plenty of unrelated credentials share it. This article is about one thing only: the Intravenous Therapy Certification offered through the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service, Inc. (NAPNES). NAPNES's Certifications page lists the designations "LPN, IVT" and "LVN, IVT" for nurses who earn it.
That framing matters because it tells you who the credential is built for and what it is not. It is a post-licensure certification for practical and vocational nurses. It is not the infusion-nursing credential designed for registered nurses, not a generic IV technician exam, and not a state-specific IV course. If you are still sorting out the terminology, our explainers on what IVT certification is and what IVT stands for cover the basics, and the IVT certification hub article collects the broader topics in one place.
Who Can Pursue It: LPNs and LVNs Only
NAPNES's online application describes the core prerequisite plainly: you need an LPN or LVN license in good standing. Beyond that, the process includes a completed application, a copy of your license, and authorization to test issued by NAPNES. That authorization carries a 60-day window, which means you should not request it until you are close to ready.
Equally important is what the public application does not establish. No exact IVT-specific employment-hour minimum, reference-count requirement, mandatory course-hour requirement, or separate practical-skills assessment was found in the public materials. Course topics that sound clinical should not be mistaken for a hands-on skills test. For a fuller walk-through of eligibility, see our guide to IVT requirements and how to qualify.
The Eight Preparation Modules, Explained
NAPNES does not publish a current exam blueprint with percentage weights for IVT. What is public is the issuer-linked IV Therapy Certification Course curriculum, which is organized into eight numbered instructional modules. This site uses those eight titles as its preparation domains. Treat them as a study map rather than an official eight-domain exam outline: they are unweighted, and they do not prove exhaustive exam coverage. Our complete guide to all eight IVT content areas goes deeper on each one.
Domain 1: Introduction
The opening module orients you to the course and the credential. It is where the framing of patient care and communication in IV therapy begins.
- Understand the purpose and boundaries of the certification
- Connect patient communication to safe IV care
- Note that administrative sections of the course are not exam domains
Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology
Preparation objectives emphasize upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, the structures you must understand to reason about site selection and complications.
- Vascular anatomy of the upper extremity
- Nerve locations and why proximity matters
- How anatomy connects to complication recognition
Domain 3: Asepsis
Asepsis and infection control sit at the center of IV safety. Expect to reason about technique, not just recite definitions.
- Asepsis principles applied to IV procedures
- Infection control practices and regulatory precautions
- Recognizing breaks in technique
Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies
Equipment and infusion devices are a named preparation objective. Know what each device is for and how it fits into safe administration.
- Infusion devices and their purposes
- Supplies used in IV initiation and maintenance
- Safety considerations tied to equipment choices
Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations
Metric measurement and dosage calculation are explicit objectives. This is the module where steady practice pays off most visibly.
- Metric measurement and unit conversion
- Dosage and flow-rate calculation
- Checking your arithmetic against clinical reasonableness
Domain 6: Foundations
This module builds the conceptual base that the later clinical modules rely on, including the regulatory and patient-care context for IV therapy.
- Core principles that underpin IV practice
- Regulatory precautions and professional responsibility
Domain 7: Pharmacology
Medication safety runs through the preparation objectives. Here the focus is on how IV-administered medications behave and how to administer them safely.
- Medication safety principles
- Reasoning about IV medication administration
Domain 8: IV Infusion
The final module draws the others together around the infusion itself, including recognizing complications when something goes wrong.
- Conducting and monitoring an infusion
- Complication recognition and response
- Linking technique, equipment, and calculation into one safe workflow
What the Issuer Says About the Exam Format
The currently accessible NAPNES FAQ gives three concrete exam facts: the exam contains 125 to 160 multiple-choice questions, it is delivered online and timed from an internet-connected computer, and the passing criterion is 80%. That range is the issuer's own wording, so quoting a single fixed question count would overstate what is known.
Several details that candidates often want are simply not specified in the verified sources: the exact question count, how many items are scored versus unscored, the precise timer, any adaptive-testing rule, calculator policy, and whether the exam is open- or closed-book. Some third-party guides state a flat 150 questions and 150 minutes, but those claims come from secondary sources and do not override the issuer's range. Plan on the range, and confirm logistics directly with NAPNES when you apply. For more on the cut score, see our passing score breakdown, and for a realistic sense of difficulty, read how hard the IVT exam is.
Passing score versus pass rate
These two ideas are easy to confuse. The 80% figure is the passing requirement. A pass rate would describe what share of candidates actually pass, and no current public NAPNES pass-rate dataset was verified. A course provider's "pass guarantee" is marketing language, not a cohort statistic. Our article on what the pass-rate data shows explains how to read these claims carefully.
Fees and Logistics: Separating Legacy Figures From Verified Ones
This is the area where candidates most often get misled, so precision helps. NAPNES's public IVT information contains wording that has clearly aged. The IVT FAQ still names Castle Worldwide as the testing provider and quotes a $60 first attempt and a $50 additional attempt, plus a $100 NAPNES registration. That same page describes IVT as "not yet three years old," which tells you the copy predates today. The online application page also names Castle Worldwide but uses the word "Scranton" in its retest instructions, and a current IVT-specific vendor portal was not verified.
| Item | What the public sources show | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| NAPNES application | $100 per application; the linked form covers both initial IVT certification and IVT recertification by examination | Published on the linked application |
| NAPNES signup form | $100 IVT registration for three years; a separate $50 option for active-duty military/VA employees | Live signup form; the $50 is an eligibility discount, not a member/nonmember split |
| Vendor testing fees | $60 first attempt, $50 additional attempt, from the FAQ | Legacy wording; do not treat as freshly confirmed pricing |
| Preparation course | $395 one-time, or $100 per month for five months | Course tuition, not a testing charge |
Two cautions follow from this. First, the course price is not the exam price: the storefront's "certificate included" wording does not confirm that NAPNES application or exam fees are bundled in. Second, no all-in current total can honestly be stated from the public sources. A legacy $295 course figure still appears on one courseware site, but it should not be substituted for the issuer-linked $395 tuition. For a structured way to budget, see our IVT certification cost breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Before you pay anyone, ask NAPNES directly which testing vendor and which fees apply to your attempt today. Written confirmation beats any figure you read on a blog, including this one.
From Application to Certified: The Process
The public application describes a sequence worth understanding before you begin, because several steps run on deadlines.
- Confirm eligibility. Make sure your LPN or LVN license is active and in good standing.
- Submit the application. Include the completed form and a copy of your license, along with the $100 application fee listed on the linked form.
- Receive authorization to test. NAPNES issues it, and it is valid for a 60-day window. Schedule your preparation so you can sit the exam inside that period.
- Take the online exam. The FAQ describes timed delivery from an internet-connected computer. Current IVT-specific proctoring arrangements were not verified, so ask about them.
- Return the notarized affidavit. The linked application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit, returned to NAPNES within 60 days of receipt, before the certification process is complete.
Notice the two separate 60-day clocks: one for using your testing authorization and one for returning the affidavit. Missing either can stall the process. Our guide to exam dates and scheduling helps you plan around them.
National Credential vs. State Scope of Practice
Earning a national certification does not by itself authorize you to perform IV therapy in your state. The affidavit and application requirements document your certification; they are not claims that unsupervised clinical practice is permitted. What a practical or vocational nurse may do with IVs is governed by state licensing law, and your employer's policies add another layer.
California illustrates how state-specific this can be. Its Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians publishes its own IV therapy, blood withdrawal, and combined certification processes. That is a California matter and should not be read as a nationwide rule or as a benefit that automatically comes with the NAPNES credential. Before investing in any IV certification, check with your own state board and your employer about what they recognize.
IVT vs. CRNI: Different Credentials, Different Nurses
Candidates frequently ask how NAPNES IV therapy certification compares with the CRNI. The honest answer is that they serve different nurses. The NAPNES credential targets LPNs and LVNs. The CRNI, administered separately, requires an active unrestricted RN license and 1,600 infusion hours within two years. Those are CRNI's own requirements and have nothing to do with IVT eligibility.
| Factor | NAPNES IV Therapy (IVT) | CRNI |
|---|---|---|
| Intended nurse | LPN or LVN | Registered nurse |
| License prerequisite | LPN/LVN in good standing | Active, unrestricted RN license |
| Experience prerequisite | No IVT-specific hour requirement established in public application | 1,600 infusion hours in two years |
| Issuing organization | NAPNES | Separate infusion-nursing credentialing body |
The practical takeaway: pick the credential that matches your license, not the one with the more familiar name.
Career Value Without the Hype
NAPNES does not promise that an employer will give you a raise for holding the credential, and neither should anyone selling you a course. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median wage of $64,400 for LPNs and LVNs, but that is an occupation-wide figure. It does not measure an IVT pay premium, and it would be misleading to read it that way.
Where the credential plausibly helps is in documenting a defined body of IV knowledge for employers who want it. Settings that rely on practical and vocational nurses, such as long-term care and other facilities that use LPNs and LVNs, are the natural places to ask whether IV certification is valued. The right questions are practical ones: Does my employer require or prefer this credential? Will they reimburse the cost? Does it change my assigned duties within my state's scope of practice? We explore these in our ROI analysis, our salary guide, and our overview of IVT jobs.
Validity and Renewal
The certification is valid for three years, which both the IVT issuer page and the linked application support. The shared application explicitly offers recertification by examination, so retaking the exam is a documented route.
What is not verified is any current IVT-specific continuing-education-only renewal procedure, the number of CE hours it would require, or a renewal fee split between members and nonmembers. An old rule-change notice dated November 12, 2006 mentions 24 contact hours for all NAPNES certifications, but it predates IVT's launch and does not establish a current IVT CE route. The FAQ's statement that renewal costs are "not yet established" is similarly stale. Ask NAPNES for the current renewal pathway well before your three years expire.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Modules
You do not need a generic study system; you need an order that respects how the eight modules depend on each other. The public syllabus specifies 45+ course hours and recommends finishing within 16 weeks or less, while the current storefront lists 26 weeks of access. Those are course measures, not the exam timer or a universal eligibility requirement, but they offer a sensible pacing reference. One workable arrangement:
Foundations first
- Introduction and Foundations: regulatory precautions and patient communication
- Anatomy and Physiology: upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, since later complication questions lean on it
Safety and equipment
- Asepsis and infection control
- Equipment and Supplies, tied back to asepsis
Calculation and medication
- Dosages and Calculations: start early and revisit weekly, because accuracy comes from repetition
- Pharmacology and medication safety
Integration
- IV Infusion: tie technique, equipment, and calculation together
- Complication recognition scenarios and timed practice sets
Dosage calculation deserves special attention. It is a verified preparation module, and it is also the area where generic question banks are least reliable, since a bank can contain clinically wrong answers or items unrelated to this exam. Work your own problems carefully and, where possible, have a qualified colleague check them. For a fuller plan, see our IVT study guide, keep the one-page cheat sheet handy for last-minute review, and use the IVT Exam Prep practice tests to rehearse the multiple-choice format. If you are weighing structured coursework, our overview of IVT training options compares approaches.
Frequently Asked Questions
Candidates need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of their license, and authorization to test from NAPNES. The authorization has a 60-day window. See our requirements guide for details.
The accessible NAPNES FAQ cites 125 to 160 multiple-choice questions, delivered online and timed, with an 80% passing criterion. An exact question count and precise timer are not specified in the verified sources.
The NAPNES application lists $100 per application, and a separate $50 option exists for active-duty military or VA employees. Older FAQ wording also names vendor testing fees, but that copy is dated. The preparation course is priced separately at $395 or $100 per month for five months. Confirm current charges with NAPNES, and see our cost breakdown.
Three years. Recertification by examination is offered on the shared application. A current CE-only renewal route and its fee were not verified, so ask NAPNES directly.
No. Scope of practice is a separate licensing matter governed by your state and employer. A national certification documents your training but does not by itself grant practice authority.