IVT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IVT Training

TL;DR
  • IVT training for NAPNES covers eight instructional modules, from Introduction through IV Infusion, taught in a self-paced online course.
  • The public syllabus lists 45+ course hours and a recommended completion window of 16 weeks or less.
  • Course tuition ($395 advertised) is separate from NAPNES application and exam charges ($100 application fee on the linked form).
  • The issuer FAQ describes a timed online exam of 125-160 multiple-choice questions with an 80% passing criterion.

What "IVT Training" Actually Means for NAPNES Candidates

Search for "IV therapy training" and you will find a crowded field: state-board-approved courses, employer in-service programs, infusion nursing education for RNs, and technician programs. This article is about one specific thing: the preparation pathway for NAPNES's post-licensure Intravenous Therapy Certification (IVT), the credential the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service offers to licensed practical and vocational nurses.

That distinction matters because the pathways are not interchangeable. NAPNES IVT is not the RN-oriented infusion credential, not a generic IV technician exam, and not a state-specific IV course. If you are new to the credential itself, start with our explainer on what IVT certification is, then return here for the training specifics.

NAPNES links its certification page to an issuer-associated preparation course delivered by Online Education Programs under the NAPNES Certs Prep banner. That course is the "training" most candidates mean, and it is the one this article maps in detail.

Training Is Not the Exam: Where the Course Ends and Testing Begins

The most common source of confusion among prospective candidates is blending the course with the credential. They are separate steps with separate numbers attached.

ItemPreparation CourseNAPNES Certification Exam
FormatSelf-paced online lessons with quizzes and examinationsTimed online multiple-choice test taken from an internet-connected computer
SizeEight instructional modules; 45+ course hours per the public syllabus125-160 questions per the issuer FAQ
Grading40% quizzes, 30% quarter examinations, 30% final examination80% passing criterion per the issuer FAQ
Cost basisAdvertised $395 one-time tuition or $100/month for five months$100 application on the linked NAPNES form (plus testing-vendor charges that could not be verified as current)
OutcomeCourse completion and learningEligibility to complete certification after the post-exam affidavit
Don't Confuse Course Grades With Exam Weights: The 40/30/30 split is how the preparation course grades students. It says nothing about how the certification exam is scored or how its content is distributed. No public IVT exam blueprint with percentage weights was verified, so no domain can honestly be called "the biggest section."

For a closer look at what the 80% threshold means in practice, see our breakdown of the IVT passing score.

The Eight Instructional Modules, Explained

The public IV Therapy Syllabus lists eight numbered modules. Treat them as the curriculum a trainee works through, not as an official eight-domain examination blueprint. The headings are unweighted, and administrative or study-skills sections of the course are not additional exam content. For a topic-by-topic walkthrough, see the IVT exam domains guide.

Module 1: Introduction

Orients the learner to the scope, purpose and expectations of IV therapy education for practical and vocational nurses.

  • Role of the LPN/LVN in IV therapy and the importance of staying within your state's rules
  • Patient care and communication fundamentals as they relate to infusion

Module 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology

Grounds venous access in the structures you will actually touch.

  • Upper-extremity vascular anatomy: which veins are suitable and why
  • Nerve anatomy in the upper extremity and the injury risks near common sites

Module 3: Asepsis

Infection prevention is where careless technique becomes a patient-safety event.

  • Hand hygiene, site preparation and maintaining a sterile field
  • Recognizing and preventing infection tied to IV devices

Module 4: Equipment and Supplies

Know what each device does and when it is appropriate.

  • Catheters, tubing, solutions and infusion devices
  • Selecting and handling supplies correctly

Module 5: Dosages and Calculations

The most hands-on quantitative module, built on metric measurement.

  • Metric units and conversions
  • Dosage and flow-rate calculation, performed with attention to unit errors

Module 6: Foundations

Core principles that tie the technical modules together, including regulatory precautions and general safety expectations for IV care.

  • Regulatory and precautionary frameworks
  • Patient assessment as it applies to infusion therapy

Module 7: Pharmacology

Medication safety as it applies to what flows through the line.

  • Understanding medication actions, interactions and administration safety
  • Recognizing adverse reactions tied to infused medications

Module 8: IV Infusion

Brings procedure, monitoring and troubleshooting together.

  • Initiating, monitoring and discontinuing infusions
  • Recognizing and responding to complications

The syllabus objectives across these modules emphasize patient care and communication, upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, asepsis and infection control, regulatory precautions, equipment and infusion devices, metric measurement, dosage calculation, complication recognition and medication safety. Because the course ends with Module 8 rather than a separate skills lab, do not assume it substitutes for supervised clinical competency verification; no practical-skills assessment requirement was established in the public application.

Course Format, Hours, Pacing and Grading

The public syllabus gives concrete course measures that are easy to misread as certification requirements. They are not.

  • Course hours: 45+ hours of instruction. This is a course measure, not an independently verified universal eligibility-hour requirement for the credential.
  • Recommended pace: complete in 16 weeks or less, self-paced.
  • Access window: the current course storefront lists 26 weeks of access, which gives you slack beyond the recommended pace.
  • Required text: the syllabus names a required reference textbook dating from 2007. Confirm the exact title and edition on the syllabus page before purchasing, and treat anything in it that conflicts with current clinical practice or your facility's policy with caution.
  • Grading: 40% quizzes, 30% quarter examinations, 30% final examination.
Source Age Matters: The public syllabus carries a 2021 NAPNES and Mid America Learning copyright, and no 2026 exam revision was published in the retrieved material. Before relying on any single detail, check the issuer pages directly. Some provider lessons (the certification checklist, the exam-taking lesson and the FAQ lesson bodies) are access-gated, so their contents should be read inside the course rather than assumed from third-party summaries.

Training Costs Versus Testing Charges

Candidates frequently ask for one all-in number. None can be honestly stated, because the training price and the certification charges are paid to different parties and the testing-vendor details have not been verified as current. Here is what each source actually shows:

ChargeAmount shownCaveat
Preparation course tuition$395 one-time, or $100/month for five monthsCourse price only; does not verify that NAPNES application or exam charges are included
NAPNES application$100 per application on the linked Certification ApplicationCovers initial IVT and recertification by examination on the shared form; no initial member/nonmember split published
NAPNES signup form$100 IVT registration for three years; $50 option for active-duty military/VA employeesAn eligibility discount, not a member/nonmember difference
Testing vendor feesIssuer FAQ quotes $60 first attempt, $50 additional attemptFAQ wording is stale (it calls IVT "not yet three years old" and names Castle Worldwide); do not treat as confirmed 2026 pricing

A legacy $295 course price still appears on a third-party courseware page; it should not be substituted for the issuer-linked $395 figure. For a fuller discussion of how these numbers fit together and where they are unverified, read the IVT certification cost breakdown.

Eligibility and Paperwork Before You Enroll

Training is open to anyone who can buy the course, but certification is not. The NAPNES Online Application page sets out the credential-side process, so confirm your eligibility before investing in tuition. See the full IVT requirements guide for details; the essentials are:

  1. An LPN or LVN license in good standing.
  2. A completed application with a copy of your license.
  3. Authorization to test from NAPNES, which carries a 60-day window for use.
  4. A notarized post-exam affidavit, returned to NAPNES within 60 days of receipt, before the certification process is complete.

The public application does not specify an IVT-specific employment-hour minimum, a reference count, a mandatory course-hour requirement or a separate practical-skills assessment. Do not infer one from the clinical topics in the course. Likewise, these are documentation requirements, not statements that you may practice IV therapy unsupervised.

Key Takeaway

Check your license status and your state's IV rules first, then decide on the course. A candidate who enrolls before confirming eligibility risks paying tuition for a credential they cannot yet complete.

Sequencing the Modules Over a Study Window

Because the course is self-paced, the order you tackle modules is up to you, and it is worth being deliberate. Here is one way to spread the eight modules across the recommended 16-week window, weighting effort toward the topics that demand repetition. For broader preparation strategy, see our IVT study guide.

Weeks 1-3

Introduction and Anatomy

  • Work through Modules 1 and 2 in order
  • Sketch upper-extremity veins and nearby nerves from memory until you can label them cold
Weeks 4-6

Asepsis and Equipment

  • Cover Modules 3 and 4 together, since technique and supplies are used as a pair
  • Build a one-page device reference you can revisit
Weeks 7-10

Dosages and Calculations

  • Give Module 5 the longest stretch; calculation fluency comes only from repeated worked problems
  • Practice metric conversions daily in short sessions
Weeks 11-14

Foundations, Pharmacology, Infusion

  • Complete Modules 6, 7 and 8, tying medication safety to complication recognition
Weeks 15-16

Integration

The reason Dosages and Calculations gets the biggest block is practical: it is the one module where understanding without practice does not produce correct answers. Our difficulty guide discusses where candidates tend to struggle, and the IVT cheat sheet is a handy final-week review.

State Practice Authority and Employer Expectations

Finishing the course and earning the credential are national-level steps administered by NAPNES. Whether you may start IVs on the job is a separate question answered by your state nursing board and your employer's policies.

States differ. California, for example, publishes its own IV therapy, blood withdrawal and combined certification processes through its Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians. That is a California-specific route and should not be read as a nationwide rule or as an automatic benefit of holding NAPNES IVT. If you practice elsewhere, check your own board's position before assuming the credential changes your scope.

The same caution applies to career expectations. NAPNES does not promise raises, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median wage of $64,400 for LPNs and LVNs as a whole, an occupation-wide figure that says nothing about an IVT premium. Whether employers value the credential, reimburse the course or pay differently for it is a conversation to have with your own facility. For more on the economics, see our ROI analysis, the salary guide and the overview of IVT jobs.

Finally, a note on competing terms: the CRNI is a different credential with its own RN-license and infusion-experience requirements. It targets a different licensure level and should not be treated as a stand-in for what IVT requires.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does IVT training take?

The public syllabus lists 45+ course hours and recommends finishing within 16 weeks or less. The course storefront currently advertises 26 weeks of access. These are course measures, not certification eligibility requirements.

Is the preparation course required to sit for the NAPNES exam?

The public application describes requirements such as an LPN/LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a license copy and authorization to test. It does not establish a mandatory course-hour requirement. Confirm current rules with NAPNES before enrolling.

How many questions are on the exam, and what score passes?

The accessible issuer FAQ describes 125-160 multiple-choice questions delivered online and an 80% passing criterion. An exact question count, timer and calculator or reference-material policy were not specified in the public material, so check your testing instructions.

Does completing the course let me start IVs at work?

No. Scope of practice is governed by your state licensing board and your employer. The credential's application steps are documentation requirements, not authorization to practice IV therapy unsupervised.

How long does the certification last?

Three years, per the issuer page and the linked application, which also offers recertification by examination. A current continuing-education-only renewal route and its fee were not verified, so confirm renewal options with NAPNES directly. Our pass rate article explains why no cohort pass-rate figure can be stated.

Ready to pass your IVT exam?

Put this into practice with free IVT questions across every exam domain.