IVT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A IVT?

TL;DR
  • IVT here means NAPNES Intravenous Therapy Certification, a post-licensure credential for LPNs and LVNs.
  • Applicants need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, plus NAPNES authorization to test.
  • The issuer's FAQ cites 125-160 multiple-choice questions, online delivery, and an 80% passing criterion.
  • The certification lasts three years; recertification by examination is offered on the shared NAPNES application.

What a "IVT" Actually Is Here

The acronym IVT gets attached to several unrelated credentials, which is why a search for "what is a IVT" returns confusing results. On this site, IVT means one specific thing: Intravenous Therapy Certification offered through the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service, Inc. (NAPNES). It is a post-licensure certification for practical and vocational nurses who want formal, nationally issued recognition of their knowledge of intravenous therapy.

NAPNES verifies the designations "LPN, IVT" and "LVN, IVT" on its Certifications page, which tells you how the credential is meant to be used: it follows your nursing license title the same way other post-licensure designations do. If you want the shorter, more general version of this explanation, our pages on what IVT certification is and what IVT stands for cover the naming question from other angles.

Why the identity matters: Fees, eligibility rules, and exam formats differ sharply between credentials that share this acronym. Everything in this article applies only to the NAPNES IV Therapy credential for LPNs/LVNs. If you have seen figures for a different "IVT" credential, do not assume they apply here.

Who Issues It and Who Can Apply

NAPNES is a long-standing organization serving practical and vocational nursing education and practice. Its IV Therapy Certification is built around the practical/vocational nurse, and the public application is explicit about the entry requirement: an LPN or LVN license in good standing.

From NAPNES's Online Application page, the process involves:

  • A completed application
  • A copy of your nursing license
  • Authorization to test issued by NAPNES, which carries a 60-day window

The public application does not establish an IVT-specific employment-hour requirement, a reference count, a mandatory course-hour minimum, or a separate practical-skills assessment. Be careful here: because the preparation course contains clinical topics, it is tempting to assume there is a hands-on check-off. Nothing in the public materials supports that assumption. For a fuller breakdown of the documentation side, see our guide to IVT requirements and eligibility.

What This Credential Is Not

Candidates often confuse IVT with neighboring credentials. Sorting this out early saves wasted study time and money.

CredentialRelationship to NAPNES IVT
CRNIA separate infusion nursing credential with its own RN-license and infusion-experience requirements. Its eligibility rules do not apply to IVT, and IVT's do not apply to it.
Generic IV technician examsDifferent programs entirely. NAPNES IVT is for licensed practical/vocational nurses.
State-specific IV coursesState boards publish their own IV certification pathways. These are not the same as the NAPNES national credential.
NAPNES Pharmacology or Long-Term Care certificationsOther NAPNES offerings with their own fees, content, and rules. Do not mix their details with IVT.

The CRNI comparison deserves a note. CRNI is aimed at registered nurses with substantial documented infusion experience, while NAPNES IVT is aimed at LPNs and LVNs. The two are not interchangeable rungs on one ladder; they serve different license holders and different purposes.

The Eight Preparation Modules

The issuer-linked NAPNES IV Therapy Certification Course is organized into eight numbered instructional modules. These are the headings we use as the eight content areas on this site. An important honesty note: they are curriculum headings, not a published exam blueprint. No current public IVT exam blueprint with percentage weights has been verified, so nobody can credibly tell you which domain is "worth the most" on test day. Our companion piece on the eight IVT content areas goes deeper on each one.

Domain 1: Introduction

Orients you to the role of intravenous therapy in practical/vocational nursing.

  • Patient care and communication fundamentals
  • Regulatory context for IV therapy

Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology

The vascular and nerve anatomy that makes safe venous access possible.

  • Upper-extremity vascular anatomy
  • Nerve locations relevant to venipuncture
  • How fluid and circulation principles connect to infusion

Domain 3: Asepsis

Preventing infection at every step of IV care.

  • Asepsis and infection control practices
  • Precautions required by regulation and standard practice

Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies

Knowing what you are working with before you work with it.

  • Infusion devices and associated equipment
  • Selecting and handling supplies appropriately

Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations

The math module, and the one most candidates want extra practice on.

  • Metric measurement and conversions
  • Dosage calculation for ordered therapy

Domain 6: Foundations

Core principles that underpin the more specialized modules.

  • Recognizing complications of IV therapy
  • Safe-practice reasoning that ties earlier modules together

Domain 7: Pharmacology

Medication knowledge as it applies to intravenous administration.

  • Medication safety principles
  • How drug properties affect IV delivery

Domain 8: IV Infusion

Bringing the preceding modules together in the act of infusing therapy.

  • Infusion management and monitoring
  • Complication recognition in context

The preparation objectives across these modules touch patient care and communication, upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy, asepsis and infection control, regulatory precautions, equipment and infusion devices, metric measurement, dosage calculation, complication recognition, and medication safety. The course also includes administrative, study-skills, and course-assessment sections, but those are not additional exam domains.

What the Exam Looks Like

The currently accessible issuer FAQ gives a short list of exam facts:

  • Format: multiple-choice questions
  • Question count: a range of 125-160 questions
  • Delivery: timed, online, from an internet-connected computer
  • Passing criterion: 80%

Equally important is what is not specified in the verified sources: an exact question count, a scored versus unscored split, a precise timer, any adaptive-testing rule, any calculator rule, and any open-book or closed-book policy. You may see third-party pages state a neat figure such as 150 questions in 150 minutes. Those claims come from secondary sources and are not confirmed by the issuer, so treat them with caution.

Passing score vs. pass rate: The 80% figure is the passing criterion, meaning the score you need. It is not a pass rate, which would describe how many candidates succeed. No current public NAPNES IVT pass-rate dataset has been verified, and a course provider's "pass guarantee" is marketing language rather than a cohort statistic. See our pages on the IVT passing score and what the pass-rate data shows for more.

Because the dosage module involves arithmetic, ask NAPNES directly whether a calculator is permitted rather than assuming. If you are wondering how demanding the test feels in practice, our difficulty guide addresses that honestly given the limits of the available data.

Application Process and Fees

Money questions are where candidates most often run into stale information, so this section separates what is documented from what is not.

ItemWhat the public sources sayCaveat
NAPNES application$100 per application on the linked Certification Application, covering initial IVT certification and IVT recertification by examinationNo initial member/nonmember price difference is published on that form
NAPNES signup form$100 IVT registration for three years; a separate $50 option for active-duty military/VA employeesThis is an eligibility discount, not a member/nonmember split
Testing vendor feesThe issuer FAQ names Castle Worldwide and quotes $60 for a first attempt and $50 for additional attemptsThe same FAQ says IVT is "not yet three years old," so that copy is clearly dated; do not treat it as confirmed current pricing
Preparation courseThe issuer-linked storefront lists $395 one-time tuition or $100/month for five monthsThese are course prices, not testing charges; it is not verified that national application or exam fees are included

One more process detail catches people off guard: the linked application requires a notarized post-exam affidavit, returned to NAPNES within 60 days after you receive it, before the certification process is complete. Passing the exam is therefore not the last step. Build the affidavit into your timeline.

No all-in current total for course plus application plus exam can be responsibly stated from the public record. Our certification cost breakdown lays out how to add these pieces up while flagging which numbers are legacy. For timing questions, see exam dates and scheduling.

Certification vs. Scope of Practice

This is the single most important point for working nurses to understand: a NAPNES certificate is not a license to perform IV therapy. What an LPN or LVN may do with intravenous therapy is set by the state board of nursing and, in practice, by employer policy. The NAPNES application's requirements are documentation requirements, not an authorization to practice unsupervised.

States differ. California's BVNPT, for example, publishes its own separate processes for IV therapy, blood withdrawal, and combined certification. That is a California-specific pathway, and it should not be read as a nationwide rule or as an automatic benefit of holding the NAPNES credential. Before you spend money, check three things:

  1. Your state board's rules on LPN/LVN IV therapy
  2. Whether your state requires its own approved course or certification
  3. What your employer will accept as proof of competency

Career Value Without the Hype

NAPNES does not promise that an employer will give you a raise or a new role because you hold the credential. Honest career framing looks like this: IV therapy competency is a skill many facilities want in their practical and vocational nurses, and a nationally issued certification can serve as documentation of that knowledge. Whether it changes your duties or pay depends on your employer and your state's rules.

On compensation, the only solid public number is occupation-wide. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a May 2025 median wage of $64,400 for LPNs and LVNs as a whole. That figure describes the entire occupation and says nothing about an IVT premium, so anyone quoting you a specific "IVT salary bump" is going beyond the evidence. For a measured look at earnings questions, read our salary guide, and for a cost-versus-benefit view, the ROI analysis. If you are exploring where the credential helps most in the job market, our page on IVT jobs is a good next stop.

Key Takeaway

Before paying for anything, ask your employer two questions: will you reimburse the credential, and will it change what I am permitted to do on the floor? Those answers matter more than any generic salary claim.

Validity and Renewal

The certification is valid for three years, supported by both the NAPNES IVT page and the linked application. The shared application explicitly offers recertification by examination, so retaking the exam is a documented route.

What is not verified: a current IVT-specific continuing-education-only renewal procedure, an IVT-specific CE-hour requirement, and a current renewal fee distinction. A linked 2006 rule-change notice mentions 24 contact hours for all certifications, but it predates IVT's launch and does not establish a current IVT-specific CE route. The old FAQ line saying renewal costs were not yet established is likewise stale. If you plan to renew by continuing education, confirm the current procedure directly with NAPNES instead of relying on an old notice or another certification's rules.

Sequencing Your Preparation

The issuer's own preparation course recommends a self-paced completion of 16 weeks or less (45+ course hours), while the storefront lists 26 weeks of access. Those are course measures, not exam timers or eligibility-hour requirements. If you are building your own plan, a sequence that respects how the modules build on each other might look like this. For a fuller method, see our IVT study guide, and keep our one-page cheat sheet handy for final review.

Early weeks

Foundation modules

  • Introduction, anatomy and physiology, and asepsis, since later modules assume this vocabulary
  • Upper-extremity vascular and nerve anatomy until you can reason about site selection
Middle weeks

Applied content

  • Equipment and supplies, then Foundations and Pharmacology
  • Start Dosages and Calculations early and revisit it weekly, because math skills fade without repetition
Final weeks

Integration

  • IV Infusion, tying together complication recognition and medication safety
  • Timed, mixed-topic practice on the IVT practice test to build comfort with the online format

Dosage calculation is worth a standing weekly slot in any plan because it is the module where small errors compound and where generic question banks are least reliable. Work problems by hand, check units at every step, and use our practice questions to find the weak spots before test day.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does "IVT" mean on this site?

It means Intravenous Therapy Certification from NAPNES, a post-licensure credential for LPNs and LVNs. It does not refer to CRNI, generic IV technician exams, state-specific IV courses, or other NAPNES certifications.

Who is eligible to apply?

The public application requires an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of your license, and NAPNES authorization to test, which carries a 60-day window. No separate practical-skills assessment is established by the public application.

What score do I need to pass?

The issuer FAQ gives an 80% passing criterion on a multiple-choice, timed online exam of 125-160 questions. An exact question count and precise timer are not specified in the verified sources.

How long does the certification last?

Three years. NAPNES offers recertification by examination on its shared application. A current IVT-specific continuing-education-only renewal route has not been verified, so confirm directly with NAPNES.

Does the certificate let me perform IV therapy?

Not by itself. Your scope of practice is determined by your state licensing authority and your employer's policies. Check your state board's rules before relying on any certification for expanded duties.

For a broader view of how all of this fits together, our overview of IVT certification and the companion guide on IVT training options are good places to continue.

Ready to pass your IVT exam?

Put this into practice with free IVT questions across every exam domain.