- The Short Answer: What IVT Means Here
- Who Issues This Credential
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- Who Can Pursue It
- What You Study: The Eight Preparation Modules
- What We Know About the Exam Format
- Application Steps and Fees
- Validity and Renewal
- Certification Versus Scope of Practice
- What the Credential May Mean for Your Career
- IVT Versus CRNI
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- IVT here means Intravenous Therapy Certification, a post-licensure credential from NAPNES for LPNs and LVNs.
- Candidates need an LPN or LVN license in good standing plus issuer authorization to test.
- The issuer's FAQ describes 125-160 multiple-choice questions, timed online delivery, and an 80% passing criterion.
- Certification lasts three years; the shared application also offers recertification by examination.
The Short Answer: What IVT Means Here
On this site, IVT stands for Intravenous Therapy Certification. It is a professional designation offered through the National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service, Inc. (NAPNES) to practical and vocational nurses. The credential signals that a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or licensed vocational nurse (LVN) has completed an organized body of study in intravenous therapy and passed a certifying examination.
NAPNES's Certifications page lists the designations as "LPN, IVT" and "LVN, IVT," which tells you how the credential is meant to appear after a nurse's name. If you are looking for the broader overview, our companion pieces on what IVT is and what IVT certification involves cover the same ground from slightly different angles. This article focuses on pinning down the meaning of the term and what stands behind it.
Who Issues This Credential
NAPNES is a nursing organization focused on practical and vocational nursing education and service. It issues several certifications for the LPN/LVN workforce, and IV therapy is one of them. The issuer's public certification pages are the authoritative place to confirm the designation, and the preparation course linked from those pages is delivered by Online Education Programs under the NAPNES Certs Prep banner.
It helps to keep two things separate:
- The certification, which is the credential NAPNES awards after an application is approved, the exam is passed, and post-exam paperwork is completed.
- The preparation course, which is an educational product with its own tuition, hours, and grading rules. Completing a course is not the same thing as holding the certification.
Many candidates blur these together, and some third-party sites encourage that. Treat course pricing, course hours, and course grading as study-product details, and treat the application, authorization to test, exam, and affidavit as the certification process itself.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
"IVT" is a short acronym, and several unrelated credentials and technical terms share it. Searchers frequently land on pages describing something other than what they intended. To avoid that trap, anchor on these identifying details whenever you read about "IVT":
| Check This | If It Describes NAPNES IVT |
|---|---|
| Who issues it? | NAPNES |
| Who is eligible? | LPNs and LVNs holding a license in good standing |
| Subject matter | Intravenous therapy: anatomy, asepsis, equipment, calculations, pharmacology, infusion |
| Designation | "LPN, IVT" or "LVN, IVT" |
| Validity | Three years |
If a page quotes fees, exam lengths, or domain percentages that do not trace back to NAPNES, be skeptical. Some secondary guides copy competency lists from long-term-care certifications or repeat exam figures that the issuer does not publish. For a closer look at the terminology itself, see our short explainers on IVT meaning and what IVT stands for.
Who Can Pursue It
NAPNES's online application page describes the basic path for IVT candidates. You need:
- An LPN or LVN license in good standing
- A completed application
- A copy of your license
- Authorization to test issued by NAPNES, which carries a 60-day window
The public application does not establish an IVT-specific employment-hours requirement, a reference count, a mandatory course-hour minimum, or a separate practical skills assessment. Because the curriculum is clinical in nature, it is tempting to assume a hands-on skills check exists, but you should not infer one from the course topics. For the full eligibility picture, read our guide to IVT requirements.
What You Study: The Eight Preparation Modules
The issuer-linked IV Therapy Certification Course is organized into eight numbered instructional modules. We use those module titles as the eight study domains on this site. One important caution: NAPNES has not published a current, retrievable exam blueprint with percentage weights, so these eight headings are preparation topics, not an official eight-domain examination with known weightings. For a deeper walk-through, see our complete guide to all eight content areas.
Domain 1: Introduction
Orientation to the course, the purpose of IV therapy certification, and the framing of the nurse's role.
- Understand how patient care and communication fit into infusion work
- Know the course's learning objectives so your study stays aligned
Domain 2: Review of Anatomy and Physiology
The structures that make venous access possible and safe.
- Upper-extremity veins and the vascular system
- Nerve anatomy near common access sites, and why it matters for avoiding injury
Domain 3: Asepsis
Infection control as applied to IV insertion, maintenance, and site care.
- Aseptic technique and prevention of catheter-related infection
- Regulatory precautions that protect both patient and nurse
Domain 4: Equipment and Supplies
The hardware of infusion therapy.
- Catheters, needles, tubing, and solution containers
- Infusion devices and how to recognize proper function
Domain 5: Dosages and Calculations
The math layer, built on metric measurement.
- Metric measurement and conversions
- Dosage and flow-rate calculation, which rewards repeated worked practice
Domain 6: Foundations
Core principles that underpin safe infusion practice.
- Patient assessment and communication in the context of IV therapy
- Recognizing complications early
Domain 7: Pharmacology
Medication knowledge as it applies to intravenous administration.
- Medication safety principles
- Understanding what is being infused and why the route matters
Domain 8: IV Infusion
The applied heart of the subject.
- Infusion therapy procedures and monitoring
- Complication recognition and appropriate response
What We Know About the Exam Format
The publicly accessible issuer FAQ gives a modest but useful set of facts:
- Question type: multiple choice
- Question range: 125-160 questions
- Delivery: timed, online, from an internet-connected computer
- Passing criterion: 80%
What is not specified in the verified sources: the exact question count, how many items are scored versus unscored, the precise time limit, whether testing is adaptive, calculator rules, and whether the exam is open- or closed-book. Some third-party guides state a flat 150 questions in 150 minutes, but that claim comes from a secondary 2019 source and does not override the issuer's own range. If you need to plan your test day, confirm the details directly when NAPNES issues your authorization.
On difficulty and results: there is no verified public pass-rate dataset for this exam. A course provider's "pass guarantee" is marketing language, not a cohort pass rate. Our discussions of exam difficulty, pass rate, and the passing score go into how to interpret these figures cautiously.
Application Steps and Fees
The process, as documented on NAPNES pages, runs roughly like this:
- Confirm you hold an active LPN or LVN license in good standing.
- Submit the NAPNES certification application with a copy of your license.
- Receive issuer authorization to test; use it within the 60-day window.
- Sit for the timed online exam.
- Complete the notarized post-exam affidavit and return it to NAPNES within 60 days of receipt. The certification process is not complete until this is done.
On money, here is what the sources do and do not support:
| Item | What the Sources Show |
|---|---|
| NAPNES application | $100 per application; the form covers initial IVT certification and recertification by examination |
| NAPNES signup form | $100 IVT registration for three years, plus a separate $50 option for active-duty military/VA employees |
| Legacy FAQ testing fees | $60 first attempt, $50 additional attempt via Castle Worldwide, but that page is visibly dated |
| Preparation course | Storefront lists $395 one-time or $100/month for five months; this is tuition, not an exam fee |
Treat the legacy testing-vendor figures with caution. The same FAQ says the credential is "not yet three years old," which shows that parts of its copy are stale, and a current IVT-specific testing vendor arrangement was not verified. No all-in current total can be stated honestly. Our IVT certification cost breakdown separates verified charges from legacy ones, and the exam dates and scheduling guide covers timing.
Validity and Renewal
IVT certification is valid for three years, per both the issuer's IVT page and the linked application. That same shared application explicitly offers recertification by examination.
What cannot be confirmed from current public sources is an IVT-specific continuing-education-only renewal route, a required number of CE hours, or a renewal fee that differs by membership status. A 2006 NAPNES rule-change notice mentions 24 contact hours for certifications generally, but it predates the IVT credential and does not establish a current IVT renewal path. If you plan to renew, ask NAPNES directly which routes are currently open before you assume CE alone will suffice.
Certification Versus Scope of Practice
This is the point candidates most often misunderstand. A NAPNES certificate is not a license and does not grant legal authority to perform IV therapy. What an LPN or LVN may do with IV therapy is governed by the state board of nursing and by employer policy.
States differ. California, for example, runs its own board-published processes for IV therapy, blood withdrawal, and combined certification through the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians. That is a California-specific arrangement and should not be read as a national rule or as proof that NAPNES IVT automatically satisfies another state's requirements. Before you invest in preparation, ask your state board and your employer two questions: what IV tasks are permitted for your license, and does the employer recognize or require this particular credential?
Key Takeaway
Verify your state's rules first. The certification documents your knowledge; your nurse practice act and employer policy decide what you may actually do at the bedside.
What the Credential May Mean for Your Career
NAPNES does not promise a raise or a job offer, and no public source establishes a salary premium specific to IVT. The only hard wage figure available is occupation-wide: the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median of $64,400 for LPNs and LVNs as a group. That number describes the whole occupation and says nothing about what an IV-certified nurse earns relative to an uncertified one.
Where the credential can matter is qualitative:
- Employer recognition: facilities that expect LPNs to handle infusion tasks may value documented training.
- Role flexibility: settings such as long-term care, home health, clinics, and subacute units often involve IV-related work for practical nurses, depending on state rules.
- Reimbursement and advancement: some employers pay for certification or consider it in promotion decisions; this varies and should be asked about directly.
For frameworks on weighing cost against payoff, see our ROI analysis, the salary guide, and the overview of IVT jobs.
IVT Versus CRNI
Nurses often ask how NAPNES IVT compares with the CRNI credential. They serve different audiences and should not be treated as interchangeable.
| Feature | NAPNES IVT | CRNI |
|---|---|---|
| Intended audience | LPNs and LVNs | Registered nurses |
| License requirement | LPN/LVN license in good standing | Active, unrestricted RN license |
| Experience requirement | No IVT-specific infusion-hours requirement established in public application | 1,600 infusion hours within two years |
| Issuer | NAPNES | Infusion Nurses Society's credentialing body |
The practical takeaway: if you are an LPN or LVN, CRNI is not your route, and CRNI's experience rules say nothing about IVT eligibility. If you later become an RN, CRNI may become relevant, but that is a separate decision with its own requirements.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your study by how the eight modules build on one another. The public syllabus suggests completing the course in 16 weeks or less at a self-paced rate, with 45+ course hours, so a sixteen-week frame is a reasonable ceiling to plan around. Course access on the current storefront runs 26 weeks, but that is access time, not an exam rule.
Introduction, anatomy, and physiology
- Learn the upper-extremity vascular and nerve landmarks first, since later safety topics assume them
- Skim the course objectives so you know what each module expects
Asepsis and equipment
- Pair infection-control principles with the devices they apply to
- Note regulatory precautions as you go
Dosages and calculations, plus foundations
- Start calculation drills early and repeat them weekly; this domain rewards volume
- Review patient communication and assessment alongside the math
Pharmacology and IV infusion
- Tie medication safety to infusion procedures and complication recognition
- Practice scenario-style questions on what to do when something goes wrong
Integrated review
- Mix questions from all eight areas under timed conditions
- Revisit your weakest module; use the cheat sheet for a final pass
For a fuller approach, our IVT study guide expands on this structure, and the practice test lets you check recall across all eight areas. If you want a lighter introduction before committing, our overview of IVT training options explains how preparation courses fit in.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, IVT stands for Intravenous Therapy Certification, a NAPNES credential for LPNs and LVNs. The designation is written "LPN, IVT" or "LVN, IVT." See also our page on what IVT means.
Candidates need an LPN or LVN license in good standing, a completed application, a copy of the license, and NAPNES authorization to test, which carries a 60-day window. No IVT-specific employment-hour requirement was established in the public application.
The issuer FAQ states an 80% passing criterion for a multiple-choice exam of 125-160 questions. The exact count, scored-versus-unscored split, and timer are not specified in verified public sources.
Three years. The shared NAPNES application also offers recertification by examination, though a current IVT-specific CE-only renewal route and hour requirement were not verified.
Not by itself. Your state board of nursing and employer policy define what an LPN or LVN may do, so check both before relying on the credential for expanded duties.